carola-abroad.reismee.nl

Stress!

Yes, I'm stressed. Probably not really a surprise for those who know me well...

This trip is supposed to make me more relaxed, but I can tell you one thing: don't go to Hong Kong for relaxation! I was in Hong Kong two years ago and I had a great time then, but this time, it's been very stressful. It started with dragging my belongings with me from Hong Kong airport to the Dragon Hostel. I cursed myself for having packed so much stuff. I probably won't use most of it. I couldn't find the Dragon Hostel where I had booked a room for 2 nights and the people I asked, couldn't help me either (most of them didn't even speak English). Anyway, I finally met a guy who was willing to walk the extra mile for me - literally. I found the Dragon Hostel, up on the 7th floor of a grey building. My room resembled a prison, I had to shower in the toilet (literally!), my bed was too small and too hard and I could barely fit all my stuff in, but: it was situated in the city centre. I had wanted to go to Disneyland yesterday, but because I suffered from jetlag, I didn't sleep at night, but in the morning, so by the time I got out of bed, half the day was over (sounds familiar? Don't think I can really blame the jetlag...! ). I went shopping instead and at the end of the day (of course), I discovered the Langham Place Centre, a fantastic shopping mall with H&M, Esprit and - to my great surprise - a Lush store! It felt good to see some familiar brands. Of course, with my suitcase being so heavy, I couldn't buy anything, but I enjoyed being the ultimate Dutch tourist!

And now the stress: I have a flight that leaves at 8.15 pm tonight, but it doesn't leave from HK airport, but from Shenzen. And Shenzen is ' real' China. I'll have to cross the border in order to get there and I won't be able to pay with HK dollars. Sure, I can change a few HK dollars for renminbi or yuan (same thing) here in HK and I already have a Chinese visa, but how to get from here to Shenzen appears to be a great mystery. Great! Can anyone please explain to me in real English how to go to Shenzen? Please...?

Apparently, there's a bus that goes from Kowloon Station to Shenzen airport. I'll take a taxi from the Dragon Hostel to Kowloon station. The taxi ride takes between 10 and 30 minutes, depending on the traffic. The same applies to the bus: it'll take between 2 to 3 hours. I need to be at Shenzen airport 2 hours before my flight departs, so if I leave here around 3 pm, I should be in time. Wrong! The Chinese have a different way of calculating. 'You should leave at noon. Take no risk. You can go shopping at Kowloon or Shenzen'. But I can't go shopping! Sigh. I'll leave around 2 pm. Can't leave without saying good-bye to the Langham Place Shopping Centre!

Can you please keep your fingers crossed that my trip to Shenzen will be okay? I'm so glad I bought a Point-It booklet (thank you, Frank!). I have a feeling I'm going to need it....!

Next time I write, I'll be in 'real' China. I'm curious to find out what that's like. Oh, I have my first job interview tomorrow. More stress!

Take care and please leave a message in my guest book!

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active