carola-abroad.reismee.nl

Teach - Taught - Have Taught

Today I taught my first class - hooray! And they're all still alive!

I had to teach a level 2 class of seven students. Level 2 means that the students have a basic understanding of English, a good understanding of grammar, but a lousy way of speaking. My patience got really tested today... The topic for this morning's class was 'honesty'. Well, I've learned something as well: 'honesty' is not in Chinese people's dictionaries... They think it's okay to lie - which made it very difficult for me to make them understand the meaning of the word! I taught from 9.00 - 11.30 am and I think I did a pretty good job, because the students were disappointed when I told them that tomorrow morning will be my last class. Unfortunately, there are no job openings at that school at the moment, so after class was over, I went straight to the Outdoor English College. I'll probably start there on Wednesday. Simon, the Director of OEC has tried to persuade me to work for his school since the day I arrived here. Unfortunately for him, he doesn't have a very good reputation, but I've decided to give him and his school a chance. The only thing is: Simon's school doesn't use books. The only thing the teacher has to do is make the students talk. Right. Interesting. I'm going to find out if that really works tomorrow afternoon. If Simon and I can reach an agreement, I'll only work from 2.30 -5.00 pm every day and I'll get an apartment, food and some pocket money in return. Not a bad deal, if you ask me!

Last night, Barry took me out for dinner. Barry is 75, so I was right about his age. He's taught English all around the world for years and he was generous enough to share some of his teaching experiences with me. He gave me sheets with exercises and warmers, two books I can use in class (one about grammar, the other about vocabulary) and a lot of general advice. I'm very lucky Roland introduced me to him, because he's been a great help.

I'll be looking for an apartment later today with Kathy, the Belgian teacher. Can't hurt to see what's out here before I accept one of Simon's apartments...

I've got to go now. There are other people who'd like to use the computer. Have a nice day!

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active