carola-abroad.reismee.nl

Lady of Leisure

There seems to be some confusion about my work here... Well, it's very simple: I don't work. The schools here don't want me, because I'm not energetic enough, I don't look friendly enough, I look too young, I'm not a clown, I'm qualified and I'm female. I don't want to work as an English teacher in Yangshuo anymore, because I'm not patient enough (being very honest now!) and I'm very attached to my freedom. Therefore, I've been given the title 'Lady of Leisure' - and I must admit that I quite like it!

I work as a volunteer teacher at New Start English College, which means that I talk English with Chinese students on Tuesday night and Thursday night (from 7 - 8.30 pm) in an informal setting. Here, they call this 'English Corner'. In return for attending English Corner twice a week, I get free meals on week days (lunch + dinner) and free accommodation. I have to share my room with a Chinese student and I have to share the bathroom with 3 other students (it's like a walk down memory lane...), but I think it's a pretty good deal. I can sleep in every day, do what I want during the day and do what I want almost every night, apart from 7 - 8.30 pm on Tuesday and Thursday. I don't have a curfew, but I do need to be at school every day at 11.30 am and 5.30 pm for meals. If I'm late or if I skip a meal without informing the staff, I'll receive a reprimand. Ouch! After all, it's still a Chinese school.

The Lady of Leisure has got things to do. Talk to you later!

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active