carola-abroad.reismee.nl

Not so happy....

This morning when I woke up and looked out of the window, a sunny world greeted me. It was even warm enough to wear a T-shirt! Kathy and I had lunch together outside, so we could enjoy the sun. When I wanted to pay for my lunch, however, I noticed that my wallet wasn't in my purse... I knew 100% sure that I hadn't left it in my apartment, so that could only mean one thing: it was gone. Lost? Stolen? My bank card and some money were in my wallet. Last night, I'd used my wallet for the last time when I'd bought fruit at the fruit market. What had happened between last night and lunch time today? I don't know and I'll probably never know.

I spent the rest of the afternoon sorting things out. I went to the police station with Nancy, my former room mate, to report a stolen wallet. Nancy had to translate my statement from English into Chinese. I also had to call my bank in the Netherlands to block my bank card. I couldn't use my Chinese cell phone, so I had to use a phone in a phone house to make an international call. I was able to dial the number, but when the voice on the tape started listing the options and I pressed 1 for 'reporting a stolen bank card' nothing happened. Help! I couldn't call my parents, because they were both at work. I remembered Anique's office number in Amsterdam and luckily, she was able to help me. [i]Thanks, Anique! You're a star! [/i

My bank card has been blocked and I received my salary today, so I'll be fine for a while. For a while, because without a bank card, I don't have access to my bank account and I can't withdraw money from an ATM machine either. Argh!!!

I was really looking forward to going to yoga tonight, but unfortunately, both evening classes were cancelled, because it was the first Friday of the month.... Bummer! Apparently, the first Friday of each month is a talking and singing session instead of practice. Oh. Maybe my Chinese will be good enough for that next month...

Anyway, it hasn't been a very good day so far, but the day isn't over yet, so I can still try to give it a happy ending by going dancing with Kathy. It's our last weekend together, so I'm not going to sit inside and feel sorry for myself. The most important thing is that I'm okay. It's party time!

Have a great weekend!

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active