carola-abroad.reismee.nl

Injured

In order to have fun, one needs to go out. So I went out today.

I signed up for a 1-day group tour to Rangitoto Island, an uninhabitated island with a dormant volcano. Yesterday in the museum, I learnt that Auckland is built on and surrounded by 48 volcanoes. 48?! This information was followed by the sentence 'Do you feel safe now?' No, I don't! Auckland's nickname is City of Sails, but I think it should be City of Volcanoes!

After a 25-minute ferry ride, we reached Rangitoto Island. Because we were pressed for time - the last ferry was to depart at 3.30 pm - we immediately started walking to make our way to the top of the volcano. It was a pretty tough hike, but it was worth it. The views from the top were awesome. On our way down, we also went through lava caves. I couldn't see a thing! Quite spooky. When we went down, however, I sprained my ankle. The pain was so sharp that I fainted. Ouch! Luckily, I wasn't alone. Members of the group I was with sprayed water on me to help me get back to reality. After a few minutes, I was able to get up and continue walking. I had to - I didn't want to get stuck on the island!

Right now, I'm sitting in front of the computer with an icepack on my foot, biting away the pain. I hope I'll be able to walk tomorrow. I'll be going on a cruise on Monday night and the cruise boat has a dancefloor. I hope I'll be able to join! According to the girl I booked my ticket with, there'll be 'handsome guys' aboard the ship. I wouldn't want to miss that!

Today, I also secured my seat on the bus which will take me across New Zealand. I'll be leaving on Saturday, December 26 at 7.00 am. Being there on time will be the first challenge! I'll be back on January 17, so at least I'll have company on New Year's Eve and on my birthday (it's a group tour with a maximum of 24 people).

Enjoy your Christmas holidays and be careful in the snow (in Holland)!

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active